Featured Students

CHFA Featured Student: Stephen Terkula

fs

  • Name: Stephen Terkula
  • Year: Senior
  • Major: Political Science
  • Hometown: Columbus, IN
  • Quirky Fact: Studied abroad in Rome
  • Favorite thing to eat on campus: Burrito Shack or Mr. J’s
  • Favorite Movie: Anchorman
  • Favorite Book: The Great Gatsby
  • What you like to do on campus: Hang out with friends, go to the Wellness Center, and the Waterfield Library.

Tell us about yourself:

I’m 22 years old, originally from Columbus, Indiana but grew up in Louisville, Kentucky. I ran Cross Country and Track for a number of years prior coming to Murray State University and participated with the Rowing Club here at Murray State University for two years. I have been a member of the Model United Nations Club the past two years and this most recent year as president of the club.

Click here to read more about the student organizations in Political Science.

What made you come to Murray State?

When I was looking up universities in Kentucky, Murray State was one of the cheaper universities to attend. However, despite being one of the cheaper schools, it received outstanding reviews on its quality of education as well as the community around it. So I decided to attend Murray State as I could attain a quality education at a reasonable price and live in the friendliest small town in America.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

I really enjoy working with the professors here at Murray, especially in the Political Science Department and History Departments. They are all really easy to talk to, work with, and are able to help whenever you have a question. Their office hours are really flexible so you can just walk in whenever you need help, or just want to ask a question. In particular, Dr. Winfield Rose, Dr. Choong-Nam Kang, and Dr. William Mulligan have helped me tremendously and I really appreciate their support they have given me.

Who inspires you in life?

I would have to say my dad as he has always been a model for me in the sense of the kind of character one should embody and how to project that into one’s friends, family and community.

What made you choose the major you did?

Back in high school I took a class in American Government as an advanced placement class. So that began my interest in political science and when I came to Murray I found myself debating between History and Political Science. I discovered that I have a passion for Political Science and always want to learn more about the subject since it really applies to past, current and future actions. Also how much politics influences what happens and why in regards to policies such as education, and the recent budget cuts, are another reason why I chose Political Science as my major.

Projects done recently that are related to your major?

There have been two major things recently. There is a senior seminar at which I will be presenting along with around 16 others to present in front of the department, university president and other visitors. Specifically, I will be giving a presentation on Woodrow Wilson and American Political Thought. A couple weeks ago, I was in New York with the Model UN Club here at Murray State. We were there for about a week and had been assigned a country by the conference. We had been researching since last fall on the positions of that country, Grenada, on certain issues such as social and economic development in cities. Once at the conference, we worked with other delegations, within our assigned committees, from across the globe and managed to create several resolutions that reflected numerous concerns on multiple issues and detailed solutions to solve those issues.

mun
Murray State’s Model U.N. Club

Future plans?

Right now I am waiting to hear back from some internships which I have applied to. I plan to go to grad school in the future, after working for a few years. I plan to get a Masters in either political theory or international relations. Another option I am contemplating is applying to Law School and obtain a law degree under constitutional law.

Leave a Reply

