Featured Students

Murray State student Tanelle Smith Thankful for Opportunities Afforded as a Racer

Tanelle_Smith

Tanelle Smith, a Secondary English Major at Murray State, is a very involved student and has had many opportunities on and off campus. Tanelle’s vast resume includes activities such as being a sister of Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority, Murray State Student Ambassador, Student Alumni Board Member and Best Buddies Mentor.

Currently, Smith has a summer internship through Uncommon Schools in Rochester, New York. She is teaching fifth and sixth grade English in a summer school program that helps low-income students pass onto the next grade.
“Murray State has guided me into understanding that anything is possible. No matter what my goals may be, they can always be attainable. Bob Long and Re’Nita Avery-Meriwether were key components in assisting me in the process of this internship. Rob Long motivated me and directed me into searching for youth development programs outside of Kentucky,” said Smith.
Her internship is through the Summer Teaching Fellowship, which allows college juniors to enter the classroom, gain experience and develop and practice skills that are needed when these aspiring educators begin teaching.
“Although this is only a summer experience, this summer will be an impacting one that these students will never forget. The Fellows in the program are eager college students who serve as fresh faces and new energy for the students after a long, hard year,” said Smith.
Smith noted, “When I think of ‘opportunity afforded’ it reminds me of the main reasons I chose Murray State. These were not only because of the strong elements of the Education program but also the availability of scholarships. Murray State offers an affordable yet high-quality educational experience for its students. My in-classroom experiences have been phenomenal. I love the close connection that professors have with students and how willing they are to lend a helping hand. Each professor I’ve had has gone above and beyond to meet my educational needs.”
Following her summer internship, Smith will travel to Seoul, Korea where she will study abroad for the fall semester.
“I have had the opportunity to meet many people from diverse backgrounds, give tours on campus, be a member of an array of organizations and be crowned Ms. Murray State, interact with alumni, have a campus job, build a relationship with the President and be on a billboard … I am adamant that I will graduate from Murray State with the confidence that I had the best opportunities during my collegiate years. I am so thankful for this University and the comfortable, thriving atmosphere it creates! Upon graduation, I will forever be a proud alumni of the best university on the planet, Murray State University,” said Smith.
*Interview courtesy of Racer Nation Information
Leave a Reply

