Featured Students

Featured Student: Kendrick Settler

IMG_2857.JPG

  • Name: Kendrick Settler
  • Year: Senior
  • Major: Psychology
  • Hometown: Belleville, IL
  • Quirky Fact: I have been playing soccer my whole life.
  • Favorite thing to eat on campus: Buffalo chicken wrap
  • Best movie you’ve seen recently: American Horror Story
  • Best book you’ve read recently: Game of Thrones series
  • Favorite book: The Harry Potter Series
  • What you like to do on campus: My favorite thing to do on campus is All Campus Sing

 

Q & A:

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Kendrick Settler, and I’m from Belleville, Illinois. I actually came to Murray because my neighbor’s daughter recommended it. Once I came here, I thought it was awesome and totally fell in love with the campus and the hospitality I found here. Something I like to do in my free time is to play soccer, which I have been playing since I was five. I also enjoy participating in other sports through intramurals here at Murray State. In the classroom, I enjoy doing research with the faculty members. I’m really into researching sabotage in the workplace as well as different social media and how it affects hiring. I am the vice president of my fraternity, Lambda Chi, as well as president of the Psychology Honor Society.

What made you come to Murray State?

The main reason I came to Murray State was the hospitality of the people here. I always recall this one event that really made me sure that I wanted to come here. I was here visiting, and my dad saw this mug that was sitting on one of the tables as advertisement. My dad asked if they were selling it in the bookstore and Dr. Hawthorn, who works in the Psychology Department, said she didn’t know but that he could have the mug. She just emptied the mug of pens onto the table and gave my dad the mug. I was really shocked, but it made me think that people here were exceptionally nice and hospitable.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

I’ve especially enjoyed working with Dr. Cushen. He was the first person I worked with, and he kind of set the foundation for all of the work that I’ve been doing. He helped to give me the skills I needed, to be able to accomplish all of the research that I have done.

Who inspires you in life?

Over the years I have had a lot of people that inspire me. I think here, the person I can really say that has inspired me is Dr. Robinson. He puts in so much work on campus, he loves this campus and the students so much. I see him at every organization event, just talking and asking if they can do anything better for Murray State. When I picture Murray State, I picture him going around, trying to figure out how to make it the best it can be for the students. He’s one of my role models because I want to be like that in my chosen profession.

What made you choose the major you did?

Originally, when I first came here, I wanted to do clinical psychology. But, it wasn’t until my sophomore year that I decided that I wanted to do industrial psychology. The moment that really changed my mind was when I had an internship in Memphis, and I saw how the management that was going on there wasn’t effective or efficient due to their reward system. It really made me think about how you could make management better. I did some research and I found Industrial psychology; it was exactly what I had been looking for. They research and do things which make the workplace better for the staff. This is what I realized I wanted to do: I want to help make work better for people and not stressful.

Work related to your major?

I am the student ambassador for the Psychology Department as well as the co-president of Psi Chi. My responsibility as co-president is that I am in charge of the honor society’s research. We don’t have a project just yet, but I am in charge of coordinating it.

Projects done recently, related to your major?

I just finished a project on the effects of social media and hiring. What we found, was that people were more willing to take people’s social interaction online into consideration to predict their job performance, as opposed to their resume. Actually, I just submitted this project to Disney in order to present it at a conference there. Currently. however, I am working on a project which researches workplace sabotage, and the different reasons why people choose to do it.

Planned future projects?

As soon as I am done with my current projects, I want to do research on why people withhold information from their boss. If a coworker does something wrong, what I want to test is if one of the reasons is someone having too much empathy for the other person. They might feel bad for the other person’s home life, and so they withhold information about the person stealing, or leaving work early, and writing different times. I want to test if feeling sorry for another coworker too much can actually have the side effect of withholding information, which can hurt the company.

Future plans:

After graduate school, I want to become a talent analyst for a company. Possibly a research analyst, but I’d prefer being a talent analyst. I’d like to work for a company where I can do a variety of things, like analyzing data from the company to their workers. I’d like to be on their hiring staff and work with staffing members on how to hire the right people, for the right kind of job, and paying them the right amount for that work.

Leave a Reply

