Featured Students

Featured Student: Jennifer LaRose

20161109_064652

  • Name: Jennifer LaRose
  • Year: Junior
  • Major: Double major in Political Science & Sociology
  • Hometown: Murray, KY
  • Quirky fact: I’m 1/4th Japanese
  • Best movie you’ve seen recently: Captain America
  • Favorite movie: The Notebook
  • What you like to do on campus: Hanging out in Faculty Hall because that is where I live.

 

Q & A:

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Jennifer LaRose, and I am a junior here at Murray State. I am currently double majoring in Political Science and Sociology. I plan to study abroad in Japan for the summer in 2017. I pretty much grew up here in Murray. My family moved here in 2005 because of hurricane Katrina, and I’ve been here ever since. My main hobby would be marching in band; I am a member of Racer Band and am a third-year marcher. I have played the piccolo since my junior year in high school and have continued to play piccolo in Racer Band. I actually wasn’t going to be in band this year, but I came back because someone dropped out the third day into band camp and Mr. Fannin and Dr. Hill both tag-teamed me, asking me to come back. I couldn’t say no to the opportunity, and I’m planning to be a part of Racer Band next year as well.

What made you come to Murray State?

It was kind of a “back-door” college. I went to Calloway, so I knew I would be accepted easily and I knew it was a great college. Most of the teachers I had growing up were alumni of Murray State, and there was hardly a negative comment said about the university. I was also able to stay close to home by attending this University. It also allows me to help in supporting my family without making big changes that would have occurred if I went elsewhere.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

Dr. Rose and Dr. Seib are definitely among my favorite professors. Dr. Rose can be intimidating, and I knew that when I took my first class with him. However, once I learned who he was and his teaching style, I thoroughly enjoyed the class. He and Dr. Seib are the main reasons why I enjoy political science as much as I do.

Who inspires you in life?

My mom, because she is such a hard worker and she always pushes me to do my best. She is a single mom with three kids, and it’s not an easy task. My mom has become my best friend and I know that I can go to her for anything.

What made you choose the major you did?

When I entered Murray State, I was planning on going to law school. I met with some advisors, discussed different options, and decided to major in Political Science. Later on, I found that I enjoyed Sociology just as much, so I decided to take on a double major.

Work/projects related to your major:

Ever since my freshman year, I have been interning at a law firm. I have been able to see what the life of an attorney is like, and I have been able to work on forms that most people don’t see. I have learned so much information about our legal system and the way our courts work.

Future plans:

I would like to take a gap year after completing my undergrad and then decide to go to either grad school or law school. I know I want to do something in the political field whether it’s law or teaching the material itself.

 

Jennifer is a professor’s ideal student.  She is very intelligent, very industrious and very polite and courteous at all times. She loves to read, to learn and to think.  She comes to class with her assignment read and studied, and is prepared to discuss it.  She writes well and turns her written work in on time.  I have no doubt that she will be a success at whatever she does and that we will be proud of her.

-Winfield Rose, Professor of Political Science

Jennifer is a great student.  I’ve been fortunate to have her in several classes.  She is someone who just gets it.  But beyond that, she is also someone who works hard and it shows in her work.  I can always depend on Jennifer to be prepared for class and add something meaningful to class discussion.  She is the kind of student who can take a class discussion to the next level and for that, any professor would be lucky to have her in class.

-Drew Seib, Professor of Political Science

Leave a Reply

