Featured Students

Featured Student: Shannon Hicks

shannon

  • Name: Shannon Hicks
  • Year: Senior
  • Major: Political Science
  • Hometown: Louisville, KY
  • Quirky Fact: I have never flown a kite
  • Favorite thing to get (food/ drink) on campus: Taco salad in the T-room
  • Best movie you’ve seen recently: Manchester by the Sea
  • Favorite movie: Silence of the Lambs
  • Best book you’ve read recently: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Favorite book: Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • What do you like to do on campus: I love to get involved on campus through student organizations & sporting events

 

Q&A

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Shannon Hicks; I am a senior from Louisville, Kentucky. My major is political science; my minor is organizational communication and I’m graduating in May. In my free time I love to explore Murray and the surrounding areas and to spend time with my friends and family.

What made you come to Murray State?

Well it’s kind of a funny, because my parents went to Murray State and they met here, and both of my aunts went to Murray State as well. I grew up my whole life thinking there is no way I’m coming to Murray State, because I’m from Louisville, a big city. I did not want to come to the middle of nowhere, Murray, Kentucky. But my mom made me come take a campus tour and after that I fell in love. The class size was perfect. The opportunities were great. I definitely wanted to get away from home, so it was perfect.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

I definitely have loved the connections I have been able to make. Not only with the political science professors, but different offices on campus. For example, through the housing office, the office of recruitment, Greek life office. All across campus, the faculty and stuff are really dedicated to the students. I can’t say there is one person I could peg down, because over all its been a really great experience.

Who inspires you in life?

I would just have to say, not in general one specific person, but women who have historically been great leaders in politics. So rather if that’s congress women, a supreme court justice or a high ranking public official. Just those who have broken the barrier, for paving the way for women. Those types of women inspire me, those trend setters or glass ceiling breakers so to speak, the ones that are paving the way for my generation.

What made you chose the major you did?

I originally came to Murray thinking I was going to be a doctor. My major was biology. I realized quickly after taking some chemistry classes that was not for me. I have always had a huge interest in politics and government, so I took a few of the introductory level political science classes here. I did really well and I have loved the professors, and loved the subject. It just kind of clicked and I found my niche. I have loved the department and all of the opportunities and experiences I have been able to create in the department.

Work/ projects related to your major?

I just finished the senior seminar for political science, so I accomplished the task of writing my research paper for that, which was around 20 pages. That was a lot of research, a lot of reading. I’m not in any political science classes this semester cause I’m done with my major and I’m just wrapping up my minor.

Recent awards/ honors?

I’ve gotten a few scholarships through the department. Last semester I was awarded the Harry Waterfield scholarship for political science majors. Before that I had the Mary K. Wright Williams scholarship. I’ve gotten a couple of awards through my sorority, ADPi, which I served as Chapter President. I’ve also won Outstanding Freshman and Sophomore award as well as the Lives By the Creed award. Most recently I was awarded the Dorothy Shaw Leadership Award, which is the highest individual honor a collegiate member of Alpha Delta Pi can receive. When I was a RA on campus I was awarded outstanding female programmer of the year for Richmond college.

Future plans:

Right now I have a couple of avenues to explore and I am just waiting on offers. I eventually want to go into higher education in student affairs. I just recently interviewed for a position working for my sorority as a Leadership Consultant. I have also had some interviews for grad school, and specifically graduate assistantships in higher education and student affairs. I have also applied for and had interviews for an internship with the National Orientation Directors Association, which is an internship helping an institution with their orientation process over the summer.

Leave a Reply

