Featured Students

Featured Student: Will True

will-true

  • Name: Will True
  • Year: Junior
  • Major: History/ Secondary Education Certification
  • Hometown: Bowling Green, KY
  • Quirky Fact: My name has an inverse. Won’t False. It’s a stupid joke, but I think it’s also fairly unique.
  • Favorite thing to get food/drink on campus: Mashed potato bowl at Winslow
  • Best movie you’ve seen recently: La La Land
  • Favorite movie: Good Will Hunting
  • Best book you’ve read recently: Open, Andre Agassi’s Autobiography
  • What do you like to do on campus: I enjoy playing tennis, attending MSU sporting events, and taking jogs around campus.

Q&A

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Will True. I’m from Bowling Green, Kentucky. I’m the youngest of five kids. I played tennis here my first two years; however, they cut the men’s tennis team as I was entering my junior year here at Murray. I am currently in my sixth semester, and I have been working towards a degree in history with a secondary education certification.

What made you come to Murray State?

I was originally signed to go to Western Kentucky University and play tennis under my dad; he was the coach there since 1980. But as soon as I was going in for my freshman year, WKU discontinued the team. So tennis really pulled me into coming to Murray State. I knew the coach, Mel Purcell, a little bit.  After taking a visit here, I really liked the campus and environment here at Murray. But after being here a couple years, the excellent academic environment has been what’s really stood out to me, and ultimately after MSU discontinued men’s tennis, has been what has kept me at Murray.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

Academically, all the professors I have had in the history department have been absolutely incredible. Although they have all been excellent, the two that have stood out the most would have to be Dr. Callahan and Dr. Bolin. Dr. Callahan has really helped with my research skills and my writing skills, which I really appreciate. I think she’s an amazing professor. It is very evident she cares for her students’ success.  Dr. Bolin is another professor I have really enjoyed learning from. I took his sport history class the previous semester and really enjoyed his class.  I am also currently taking his class on Kentucky History, and I am looking forward to what I learn in that class as well. The subjects he teaches really interest me. I have been fortunate to have him as a professor. Aside from academics, I also enjoyed working with Coach Purcell my first two years here at Murray.  He is a tremendous coach and helped improve my tennis game a great deal my freshman and sophomore years.

Who inspires you in life?

I would have to say my family. My mom and my dad.  I like to make them proud doing the best I can. My girlfriend also inspires me a great deal. She pushes me to be the best version of myself, and I apprentice all the support that she gives me.

What made you choose the major you did?

I’ve always had a pretty big interest in history.  It was my favorite subject in high school, so I figured it would be a worthy career path to become a teacher. It’s also one of those subjects I feel as if I’m not doing work because it is so interesting. I enjoy reading history and writing papers. There’s nothing much to it; I just really enjoy studying history.

Work/projects related to your major:

I’m starting my first teaching practicum this semester. I will be going out in the schools, getting my lesson plans ready, and engaging with students for the first time. In terms of history courses, I have a few projects and papers this semester.  I will be researching and writing a Kentucky county report in Dr. Bolin’s class.  I chose to research Warren County, my home county, because I realized I am unfamiliar with the history associated with my home.  The previous semester I completed my first large research project in Dr. Callahan’s class and was really pleased with my final product.

Recent awards/honors:

The past year, my sophomore year, I received the OVC Academic Medal of Honor for men’s tennis. In order to receive the award, you must receive a 4.0 GPA for the academic year, so I was happy that I was able to do that, with it being my final year of playing tennis for Murray.  I was also happy to earn the Kentucky Adult Player of the Year award from USTA Kentucky in the fall of 2015.

will-tennis-coach

 

Future plans:

I really don’t know. It just depends what I’m able to find after I graduate.  I will probably try to find a teaching position somewhat close to Bowling Green.  If I’m unable to do that, I am also considering the possibility of earning a master’s degree.

 

“Will True is a truly outstanding student. He is an excellent researcher and a fine writer. He is the sort of student that every professor of history wishes to teach. Will was also the number one player on the men’s tennis team.”

-Duane Bolin (History Professor)

Leave a Reply

