Featured Students

Featured Student: Amanda Combs

main-image

  • Name: Amanda Kaler Combs
  • Year: Senior
  • Major: BFA in Studio Art, emphasis in Printmaking
  • Hometown: Benton, KY
  • Quirky Fact: I have two kids, two dogs, two cats, four hermit crabs and many fish
  • Favorite thing to get (food/drink) on campus: cheese bagel from starbooks
  • Best book you’ve read recently: I read a lot. I read both fiction and nonfiction, so that makes it tough to choose. Maybe, The Organic Artist by Nick Neddo
  • Favorite book: I can always re-read The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King
  • What you like to do on campus: work in the studio

 

Q&A

Tell us about yourself:

I’m a non-traditional student, and I’m pursuing a BFA with an emphasis in printmaking.

What made you come to Murray State?

I lived locally and I had kids so I tried to stay close to home.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

I enjoy working with all the art faculty. Because there are so many different perspectives on how and why people make art, it is a good environment to fully explore your own work.

Who inspires you in life?

I’m inspired by the amazing people I’m surrounded by. My children, my peers, and professors always inspire me to work hard and try new things.

What made you choose the major you did?

I began as a nursing major and then I moved to education for a little while. Although I love the science aspect of nursing, I cannot make split second decisions. Art allows me to experiment and problem solve without the consequence of hurting someone.

Work/projects related to your major?

What I’m doing right now is working on assemblages.  I use two dimensional prints and combine them with three dimensional found objects and/or natural elements, then assemble them in a single, finished piece.

 

 

Recent awards/ honors?

I won third best in show and a printmaking award at last year’s OMAS show. I won a merit award from the Murray Art Guild’s spring exhibition.

Future plans:

I plan on applying to graduate schools in the spring. I plan on pursuing a master’s degree in museum education.

 

Leave a Reply

