Featured Students

Featured Student: Alyssa Leet

Leet, main photo

  • Name: Alyssa Leet
  • Year: Senior
  • Major: History and Social Studies Education
  • Hometown: Marion, KY
  • Quirky Fact: I have a mug collection
  • Favorite thing to get (food/drink) on campus: the gobbler from the T-room
  • Best movie you’ve seen recently: Age of Adaline
  • Favorite movie: Inglorious Basterds
  • Best book you’ve read recently: Ward No. 6 and Other Stories by Anton Chekhov
  • Favorite book: Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow
  • What you like to do on campus: sit at the table in the open area in Blackburn

 

Q&A

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Alyssa Leet, and I am a senior at Murray State University. I am a history major and a social studies education major. My goal is to teach high school (grades 8th through 12th). I am from Marion, Kentucky, and I graduated from Crittenden County High School–go Rockets! My hobbies include reading, writing, cooking, and playing tug-of-war with my dog Rudy.

 

Why did you come to Murray State?

Well my mom is an alumnus. I liked the campus; it is particularly beautiful in the Spring. MSU is both economical and friendly. I would say that Murray State has the friendliest, most helpful faculty. The students to faculty ratio is awesome, so you always get that personal connection.

 

Who have you enjoyed working with?

I’d say three people: Dr. Hilton, Dr. Humphreys, and Dr. Pizzo. Dr. Hilton has given me a passion for Russian history, helped me explore my ideas about the Cold War, and challenged what I think I know about the 20th century. Dr. Pizzo taught a class called “Genocide in World History,” which was a wonderful class with a terribly grueling subject matter. One of his comments stood out to me and let me know that individuals do have the ability to impact how humans interact and face global challenges. Dr. Humphreys helped me prepare for my first conference and presentation of a research paper, which was an extremely valuable experience.

 

Who inspires you in life?

My grandfathers because they are the most generous, most hard-working men I know. They both manage to be fun and Christ-like in everything that they do. My entire family has inspired me to be ambitious and hard-working no matter what circumstances I may face.

 

What made you choose the major you did?

I have known what I wanted to do since I was about four years old. My family has a running joke that everything I need to know I learned in kindergarten history. When I was eight, I was watching hours-long documentaries about Lewis and Clark.

 

Work/projects related to your major?

I’ve done several research projects within classes here at Murray State. My two favorite have been one for World War Two in Asia and the Pacific class on the Okinawa suicides and my senior thesis on rock and folk music’s influence on the domestic politics and social movements of the Vietnam Era. Both of those topics explore my favorite facets of history: understanding genocide/crimes against humanity and the cultural movements and effects of the 20th century events on society.

 

Recent awards/ honors?

I received a Spanish award in 2015 here, and I was surprised because I am certainly not fluent, but I have always enjoyed foreign languages.

 

Future plans:

I want to be somewhere in Western Kentucky teaching at a high school and helping students understand what is important about history and critical thinking. I have also been encouraging several of my students to become Racers during my time student teaching. My time at Murray State has been one of the best experiences of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

